More About Toyama's History

奇迹富山:通往日本北阿尔卑斯山脉的关口

富山,一座“层峦叠嶂”的城市(“tomi”富饶,“yama”山脉),为游客及其420,000余名市民奉上了日本阿尔卑斯山脉壮丽的美景。市内两条主河经市入海,阿尔卑斯高山积雪融化冲汇而成的水渠纵横交错。富山自日本海域历史上著名的岩濑货运港起——富山享有盛誉的高级海鲜之乡——向南沿着神通(众神之路)川的两岸延伸到著名山城八尾町,直至海拔3000米(9840英尺)的日本北阿尔卑斯山脉的山顶。富山市距东京250千米(155英里),是一座与朝鲜半岛、中国、俄罗斯隔海相望的国际化城市。

封建社会时期 富山城邑在封建社会经常作为战场,是历史上的战略要地,拥有富饶的富山平原,城邑中的城堡星罗棋布。在日本江户时代(1603-1868),富山成为全日本的药业中心,也因造纸业(和纸)而显赫一时,并成为从全日本各地来参加佛教名山——立山朝拜的宗教朝圣者的目的地。甚至俳句的创立者芭蕉,也在其著名的“奥之细道”的旅途中拜访过此地。

富山城,始建于1543年,三面被内外护城河环绕,一面毗邻神通川,占地面积达2.5平方千米(1平方英里)。从1581年起,著名的“水上城堡”富山城成为武士佐佐成政的领地。而在1585年,西日本伟大的大名丰臣秀吉,向富山城出兵十万,并将该城摧毁。17世纪初期,大名前田正甫两次重建富山城,而前田家也一直统治着富山城,直到1870年明治维新时期,大量的封建建筑被拆除。在南入城口由5块巨石组成的石墙遗迹表明了当时的藩主的权力和财富。在东入城口巍然矗立的木质千岁城门,其历史可追溯到1849年。城中建有日式庭院和大量的茶馆,一座大名前田正甫的铜像,以及一座纪念1945年8月1日空袭遇难者的纪念碑。

著名的江户时期 舟桥 富山城后的神通川上的舟桥,曾是日本最大的舟桥。它不仅为商人及旅人在日本海上的通行提供了便利,也激发了人们的创作灵感,比如广重的木制版画。舟桥周围有许多用于夜间照明的石灯笼(d. 1799),其中只有一盏躲过了1945年8月1日的富山空袭得以幸存。今天我们依然可以在城后神通川的南岸看到它的身影。

第二次世界大战 经过1868年的明治维新,日本实现现代化之后,富山依靠着拥有世界最高降雪量记录的日本北阿尔卑斯山脉上流下的丰沛水资源,以及富山地区的大规模水力发电,实现了地区重工业的飞速发展。富山由此成为日本特种钢和滚珠轴承的生产地,也因此在二战中成为日本遭到最为彻底的轰炸的城市。作为对广岛和长崎投放原子弹的空袭预演,富山作为实战目标,在1945年8月1日晚间,遭到173架B-29轰炸机组成的轰炸机群的空袭,被投掷了大量的燃烧弹和四枚“南瓜炸弹”,摧毁了市中心99%的建筑及设施,变成了一片废墟。此次空袭导致8,000人受伤,2,700人丧生,对多达100,000人造成了直接影响。

1974年8月1,一座二战和平重建纪念碑在富山城址公园树立。纪念碑正中是天女(或称佛教天女)雕像,用来纪念那些将富山从战后一片灰烬中重新建设成为今天的活力城市的市民们的辛勤劳作、巨大牺牲、以及不渝的爱。天女身披传统的披帛(如同围巾),站在祥云之上,左手持一朵绽放的红莲,象征着同情心和内心的纯洁,身边伴有一名孩童,双手合十为世界和平祈祷。

富山奇迹般的恢复重建至今 如今的富山已从二战后的一片废墟当中重建成为一座模范生态城市,市内拥有日本首批完成的轻轨系统,清洁的高科技产业和制药工业,并成为日本最大的玻璃艺术家聚集地,更有不计其数的公园,神社,庙宇和博物馆。作为日本阿尔卑斯登山活动的发祥地,富山如今已成为通往日本阿尔卑斯山脉的关口,并成为著名的立山-黑部阿尔卑斯山脉登山路线的起始点。

2012年,富山被认定为日本11个未来生态城市之一,经济合作与发展组织认定富山——连同墨尔本、巴黎、温哥华和波特兰——为具有世界最先进紧凑城市政策的城市之一。2013年,富山由于城市供水的卓越水质,获得在斯德哥尔摩举办的世界品质评鉴大会颁发的特别金奖。2014年,富山被联合国选为其“人人享有可持续能源”(SE4ALL)活动在日本唯一的全球关系伙伴。同年,富山市还入选为洛克菲勒基金会百大恢复力城市的唯一日本城市。

如今,生态城市富山可为广大游客提供传统与现代、城市和自然和谐共荣的景观。在此我们诚邀您光临富山领略真正的日本。

More About Toyama's History

Amazing Toyama: Gateway to the Northern Japan Alps

TOYAMA, the city “rich with mountains” (“tomi” rich, “yama” mountains), offers stunning views of the Japan Alps for its 420,000 residents and for visitors. With two major rivers flowing through the city to the sea, and crisscrossed by canals fed by alpine snows, and Toyama stretches from the historic shipping port of Iwase on the Japan Sea - home of Toyama’s highly prized premium sea food - southward along both sides of the Jinzu (“path of the gods”) River, to the famous mountain town of Yatsuo and the 3000 meter (9840 feet) crest of the Northern Japan Alps. Located 250 km (155 miles) from Tokyo, Toyama is an international city facing Korea, China and Russia across the Sea of Japan.

IN THE FEUDAL PERIOD the castle town of Toyama was strategically important and the rich Toyama Plain, dotted with castles, was often a battlefield. During the Edo Period (1603-1868), Toyama became the center for medicine distributed throughout Japan, was celebrated for paper making (washi), and became the arrival point for religious pilgrims coming from all over Japan to participate in the famous Buddhist mountain worship at Mt. Tateyama. Even Basho, the founder of haiku poetry, visited the region on his trip to the “deep north”.

TOYAMA CASTLE, built in 1543, was surrounded by inner and outer moats on three sides with the Jinzu River on the fourth, enclosing a large area of 2.5 square km (1 square mile). Renowned as the Castle which “floated on water”, after 1581 it was the keep of the powerful samurai Narimasa Sassa. In 1585 Hideyoshi Toyotomi, the great samurai lord of western Japan, attached the castle with 100,000 troops and destroyed it. In the 1600’s, Lord Masatoshi Maeda rebuilt the castle twice and his family ruled Toyama until the Meiji restoration in 1870 when the extensive buildings were dismantled. Remains of the stone walls incorporating 5 massive stones at the south entrance indicate the power and wealth of the domain lord. The imposing wooden Chitose gate at the eastern entrance dates from 1849. The castle grounds include an extensive Japanese garden and tea houses, a large bronze statue of Lord Masatoshi Maeda, and a memorial to those who died in the August 1, 1945 air raids.

THE FAMOUS EDO PERIOD BRIDGE OF BOATS across the Jinzu River behind the castle was the largest in Japan, aiding commerence and travelers along the Sea of Japan and capturing people’s imagination in works such as Hiroshige’s wood block prints. One of the numerous stone lanterns (d. 1799) which lit the bridge for night passage survived the bombing of August 1, 1945 and can be seen on the south side of the river behind castle grounds.

WORLD WAR II After the Meiji Restoration in 1868 and modernization of Japan, Toyama’s abundant water from the Northern Japan Alps – which have the highest recorded snowfall in the world – and the area’s massive productin of hydroelectric power supported the development of heavy industry. Producing specialized steel and ball bearings, Toyama became the most totally bombed Japanese city in WW II. After being used as a practice target for four huge “pumpkin bombs” as a rehearsal for the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, 99% of city center was destroyed on the night of August 1, 1945 in a massive incendiary raid by 173 B-29 bombers. The city center was reduced to ashes. More than 100,000 people were directly affected, 8,000 were injured and 2700 lost their lives.

The WW II Peace Reconstruction Memorial in Castle Park was erected on August 1, 1974. At the center is a statue of a Tennyo, or Buddhist celestial maiden, to commemorate the hard work, great sacrifices, and enduring love of those citizens who created today’s vibrant city from the ashes of war. Wreathed in traditional ribbon-like scarves, the Tennyo stands on the celestial clouds holding an open red lotus flower in the left hand to symbolize compassion and purity of heart and, with a young child, lifts up a prayer for world peace.

AFTER TOYAMA’S AMAZING RECOVERY from the ashes of WW II, it has become a leading ecological city with Japan’s first complete light rail system, clean high tech and pharmaceutical industries, the largest glass artist community in Japan, and numerous parks, shrines, temples and museums. Toyama serves as a gateway to the mountains where Japanese alpine climbing originated and the famed Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine trekking route begins.

In 2012 Toyama was designated one of Japan’s eleven eco-friendly cities of the future, and OECD recognized Toyama – along with Melbourne, Paris, Vancouver and Portland – as having one of the world’s most advanced environmentally friendly compact city policies. In 2013 Toyama was awarded the Monde Selection Grand Gold Medal in Stockholm for the exceptional quality of the city water. And In 2014 Toyama was selected by the United Nations as the only Japanese city for the new “Sustainable Energy for All” (SE4ALL) global initiative partnership, and also in 2014 Toyama was selected as the only Japanese city to join the Rockefeller 100 Resilient Cities of the world initiative.

Today eco-friendly Toyama offers the visitor a uniquely harmonious balance between the traditional and the modern, and the city and nature. We invite you to come visit the real Japan.